Gregor Karlinger, dwarfs and Giants

(c) Maria Noi

Gregor Karlinger

evolutionary catalyst

As an agile coach and organizational consultant, Gregor introduced and improved agile work methods on different levels (organization, value chain, team). In his role @Evolutionary catalyst, he combines approaches from the areas of agile process models, systemic organizational development, and coaching with each other in order to help companies in their knowledge work to continuously scale to rapidly changing environments. Gregor is also co-organizer of “Freiräume (Un)Conference” – Austria’s largest event for new forms of organization and work.

Gregor graduated in telematics from Graz Technical University, majoring in applied information processing, economics & law. He initially gained professional experience for over 15 years in various roles in IT, for example as a developer, requirements engineer, project manager, Scrum Master, Scrum Product Owner and in the management of teams.

What is the main focus of your work at dwarfs and Giants?

  • Supporting participatory change processes
  • Introducing and making agile work in teams and organizations experienceable
  • Cultivating the attitude and skills of leaders in an agile environment 

What have been your most important learning experiences?

  • Realizing in the course of my professional career that I enjoy working with people much more than with machines and algorithms
  • Thinking from different perspectives, which I developed through my systemic training
  • Problem-solving patterns for complex tasks, i.e. constant experimentation and learning is best revealed by doing – bit by bit, and more and more often. And thus – being a rather analytical type – I have come to appreciate the immense value of this approach

How did you get in touch with New Work?

Reading the book “Reinventing Organizations” by Frederic Laloux in 2015. The vivid examples of what future organizations may look like (or already do) have struck me ever since. It was also the spark that led me to the foundation of “Freiräume (Un)Conference” in 2016, which has since become the largest dialogue event on New Work in Austria around the pillars of self-organization, wholeness and purpose. 
 

Contact:
g [dot] karlingeratdwarfsandgiants [dot] org
Follow me on LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter

Gregor Karlinger, dwarfs and Giants

(c) Maria Noi

Gregor Karlinger

evolutionary catalyst

Gregor begleitet als agiler Coach und Organisationsberater die Einführung und Verbesserung von agilem Arbeiten auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen (Organisation, Wertschöpfungskette, Team). Er kombiniert als Berater Ansätze aus den Bereichen agile Vorgehensmodelle, systemische Organisationsentwicklung und Coaching miteinander, um Unternehmen in der Wissensarbeit dabei zu unterstützen, sich laufend an die sich rasch verändernden Umwelten anzupassen. Gregor ist weiters Co-Organisator der Freiräume (Un)Conference, Österreichs größte Veranstaltung zu neuen Organisations- und Arbeitsformen.

Gregor studierte Telematik an der Technischen Universität Graz mit den Schwerpunkten Angewandte Informationsverarbeitung, Wirtschaft & Recht. Berufliche Erfahrung sammelte er zunächst über 15 Jahre in diversen Rollen im IT-Umfeld, beispielsweise als Entwickler, Requirements Engineer, Projektmanager, Scrum Master, Scrum Product Owner und in der Führung von Teams.

Was sind die inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte deiner Arbeit bei dwarfs and Giants?

  • Begleitung in partizipatorischen Veränderungsprozessen
  • Agiles Arbeiten in Teams und Organisationen erfahrbar machen und einführen
  • Haltung und Skills von Führungskräften im agilen Umfeld kultivieren

Was waren deine wichtigsten Lernerfahrungen?

  • Im Laufe meiner beruflichen Entwicklung zu erkennen, dass mir das Arbeiten mit Menschen noch viel mehr Freude bereitet als jenes mit Maschinen und Algorithmen
  • Das Denken in unterschiedlichen Perspektiven, das ich mir über meine systemischen Ausbildungen erschlossen habe
  • Problemlösungsmuster für komplexe Aufgabenstellungen, nämlich, das stetiges Experimentieren und Lernen sich am besten erschließt, indem man es tut – und Stück für Stück immer öfter tut. So ist es mir auch als eher analytisch geprägten Menschen gelungen, den immensen Wert dieses Herangehens schätzen zu lernen

Welches Ereignis hat dich bewegt, dich mit New Work zu beschäftigen?

Die Lektüre des Buchs „Reinventing Organizations“ von Frederic Laloux 2015. Die lebhaften Beispiele davon, wie Organisationen der Zukunft aussehen könnten bzw. es schon tun, haben mich seither nicht mehr losgelassen. Es war auch der Zündfunke zur Gründung der Freiräume (Un)Conference 2016, die sich mittlerweile zur größten Dialogveranstaltung zu New Work in Österreich rund um die Säulen Selbstorganisation, Ganzheit (Wholeness) und Sinn (Purpose) entwickelt hat.

Kontakt:
g [dot] karlingeratdwarfsandgiants [dot] org
Folge mir auf LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter